
21 NCAC 58A .0402 EXAMINATION SUBJECT MATTER, FORMAT, AND PASSING SCORES 

(a)  The real estate licensing examination shall test applicants on the following general subject areas: 

(1) real estate law; 

(2) real estate brokerage law and practices; 

(3) the Real Estate License Law, rules of the Commission, and the Commission's trust account 

guidelines; 

(4) real estate finance; 

(5) real estate valuation (appraisal); 

(6) real estate mathematics; and 

(7) related subject areas. 

(b)  The real estate licensing examination shall consist of two sections, a "national" section on general real estate 

law, principles, and practices and a "state" section on North Carolina real estate law, principles, and practices. 

Unless the "national" section is waived by the Commission for an applicant based on its authority under G.S. 93A-9, 

an applicant shall pass both sections of the examination in order to pass the examination. 

(c)  In order to pass the real estate licensing examination, an applicant shall attain a score for each required section 

of the examination that is at least equal to the passing score established by the Commission for each section of the 

examination in compliance with psychometric standards for establishing passing scores for occupational licensing 

examinations as set forth in the "Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing" jointly promulgated by the 

American Educational Research Association, the American Psychological Association, and the National Council on 

Measurement in Education. The "Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing" are incorporated by 

referencing, including subsequent amendments and editions. A copy of the "Standards for Educational and 

Psychological Testing" is available for inspection at the North Carolina Real Estate Commission's office, whose 

address is posted on its website at www.ncrec.gov. Copies of the "Standards for Educational and Psychological 

Testing" may be ordered from the American Education Research Association through its website at www.aera.net at 

a charge of sixty-nine dollars and ninety-five cents ($69.95) per copy plus shipping. 

(d)  An applicant who passes one or both sections of the examination will receive only a score of "pass" for the 

section(s) passed; however, an applicant who fails one or both sections of the examination shall be informed of their 

actual score for the section(s) failed. An applicant who is required to pass both sections of the examination shall do 

so within his or her 180-day examination eligibility period, and if the applicant passes only one section during his or 

her 180-day examination eligibility period, then that passing score shall not be recognized if the applicant 

subsequently re-applies to the Commission for a license. 

(e)  A passing examination score obtained by a license applicant for both sections of the examination, or for the 

"state" section if that is the only section an applicant is required to pass, shall be recognized as valid for a period of 

one year from the date the examination was passed. During this time, the applicant shall satisfy any remaining 

requirements for licensure that were pending at the time of examination. The running of the one-year period shall be 

tolled upon mailing the applicant the letter set forth in 21 NCAC 58A .0616(c) informing the applicant that his or 

her moral character is in question, and shall resume running when the applicant's application is either approved for 

license issuance, denied, or withdrawn. The application of an applicant with a passing examination score who fails 

to satisfy all remaining requirements for licensure within one year shall be canceled and the applicant shall be 

required to reapply and satisfy all requirements for licensure, including retaking and passing the license 

examination, in order to be eligible for licensure. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4(b); 93A-4(d); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2015; January 1, 2012; April 1, 2006; July 1, 2000; July 1, 1996; July 1, 

1989; December 1, 1985; May 1, 1982; April 11, 1980; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 

2018. 

 


